Terms and conditions for translators | UniTranslate

Terms and Conditions for Translators and Agencies

§ 1 – General

(1) All existing and future legal transactions between the NLP GmbH or under the domain name UniTranslate, Huttensteig 10, CH-8006 Zurich (referred to as NLP) and translators or the agency (referred to in the following consistently as the translator, unless the agency is explicitly named), are entirely subject to the following terms and conditions. As part of an ongoing business relationship these terms and conditions shall apply to all subsequent orders, quotes, deliveries and services even without further explicit reference to them.

§ 2 – Eligibility and Qualifications

(1) The translator affirms that he has the qualifications referred to in the contract and that any personal information given is correct.

(2) NLP has the right to demand the submission of appropriate documents from the translator to confirm this information and to store this data until his contractual obligations have been met.

§ 3 – Scope of Services

(1) NLP will issue the translator with an offer for the translation of a specific text or a number of texts. Once the translator has accepted this offer, a translation contract is established between the parties under the terms referred to in the offer.

(2) The translator shall fulfill his obligations himself. This also applies to groups of translators (agencies). He is not authorized to call upon employees or third parties to perform this service without prior permission from NLP. Should agencies be commissioned, the agency is obligated to carefully select and monitor the translator. The agency is obligated to furnish NLP on request with the name of the specific translator selected, or to entrust a particular/another translator with the translation.

(3) The translation should be carried out according to proper professional principles. The translator shall only submit carefully translated texts. He is not authorized to submit partial translations. NLP shall receive the translation in the form and time frame specified in the contract.

(4) The translator will be notified in good time as to how the translation should be carried out (intended purpose, data media to be used, number of copies etc.) as well as the information and materials needed to complete the translation. He shall translate the source text in the specified language properly and professionally and provide a translation without abridgements, additions or other changes in content. Translations shall be created in accordance with the standards of quality customary in the translation business, conveying the meaning of the source text by providing either a literal or free translation depending on the source.

(5) Should questions or uncertainties arise, the translator shall contact NLP immediately. The translator is prohibited from contacting NLP’s client directly.

(6) For quality assurance purposes NLP is authorized to check samples of the texts that the translator has submitted, but it is not obliged to check translated texts.

§ 4 – Granting of Rights

(1) By transmitting his translation, the translator declares that he is the sole author and that no third parties have any further claims to the translation than those that existed when he received the source text. Agencies shall ensure that no third-party claims to the translation exist.

(2) By transmitting his translation, the translator grants NLP exclusive rights to use his translation without restriction in terms of time, space and locality. This includes in particular the right to edit, amend, duplicate, publish or otherwise use the translation as well as all rights that the client needs to use the translation for its intended purpose.

(3) NLP is authorized to grant or transfer rights of use to third parties, particularly to its clients, and allow them to use the translation as they see fit.

(4) The translator waives his right to be named or recognized as the author of the translation.

§ 5 – Fee

(1) The translator will receive the agreed fee as laid down in the contract. This will be based on the word, line or page count, language combination, difficulty, special field of the translation or be defined as a flat rate. The fee referred to in the contract is net, plus VAT at the current rate as applicable. The fee will be settled in Swiss francs, unless a different currency has been agreed. The following definitions apply:

(2) Lines: 55 characters

(3) Pages: 30 lines

(4) The translator shall submit a proper invoice to NLP by the end of a month at the latest for services rendered and either include the applicable VAT in the invoice, or provide a reason for its exclusion. Invoices are payable on the 15th and 30th of each month, however not before receipt of the invoice.

(5) The translator is responsible for paying tax on the income from translations according to the legal provisions applicable to him.

(6) Any costs and expenditure are included in the fee. Claims for the reimbursement of costs incurred in carrying out the translation service specified in the contract will only be accepted if they are verifiable and NLP has previously agreed to them.

(7) The translator is not entitled to any advance payment. Nor is the translator authorized to invoice for partial translations.

§ 6 – Confidentiality

(1) The translator shall treat any information that he has acquired concerning NLP and/or its clients, as well as any documents and materials he has received in the course of the contract as confidential. He may not use or exploit them, nor use, exploit or pass them on to third parties. Furthermore, the translator shall delete this data immediately after fulfilling the contract. Should the translator be required to revise or amend the translation subsequently, after he has deleted this material, NLP will provide him with the necessary data.

§ 7 – Warranty Rights, Default

(1) NLP holds warranty rights against the translator.

(2) Should the translator fail to rectify the claimed defects within an appropriate period, NLP is entitled either to have the defects rectified by a third party at the translator’s expense, require a reduction in the translator’s fee, or withdraw from the contract.

(3) If a translation is not delivered or it is rejected, the translator shall be in default. The translator shall compensate NLP for any damages incurred as a result. NLP is entitled to set the translator an appropriate period of grace to revise the translation. NLP may also withdraw from the contract and claim compensation for damages should this period of grace not be met.

(4) Should circumstances arise that may prejudice a prompt delivery, the translator must contact NLP immediately.

§ 8 – Liability

(1) NLP shall only be liable for damages incurred due to deliberate breach of duty or gross negligence on the part of NLP, its legal representatives or vicarious agents. This also applies to pre-contractual breach of duty and breach of duty in regard to a sub-contract, as well as damages incurred due to defects and consequential damages. This provision does not affect NLP’s liability as outlined in the Product Liability Act, nor its liability for damages arising from injury to life, limb and health.

§ 9 – Release

(1) The translator will release NLP from all third-party claims that may be made against NLP as a result of his translation. In particular, this includes any claims due to the content of the translation service and/or other third-party intellectual property rights. This provision also releases NLP from bearing any costs incurred from legal action and legal defence as a result of such claims.

§ 10 – Final Provisions

(1) The law of the Federal State of Switzerland shall apply to the exclusion of the UN Convention on the Sale of Goods.

(2) The Place of Performance and Place of Jurisdiction for all disputes arising from the contract is Zurich.

(3) Should individual provisions of the contract in question between the parties be ineffective or impossible to implement or become ineffective or impossible to implement after the contract has been concluded, this shall not otherwise affect the validity of the contract in question.

Conditions générales pour les traducteurs et les agences

§ 1. Général

(1) Toutes les transactions juridiques existantes et futures entre la NLP GmbH ou sous le nom de domaine UniTranslate, Huttensteig 10, CH-8006 Zurich (appelée NLP) et les traducteurs ou l'agence (appelée ci-après systématiquement le traducteur, à moins que l'agence est explicitement nommée), sont entièrement soumises aux conditions générales suivantes. Dans le cadre d'une relation commerciale continue, ces conditions générales s'appliquent à toutes les commandes, offres, livraisons et prestations ultérieures, même sans autre référence explicite à celles-ci.

§ 2 - Admissibilité et qualifications

(1) Le traducteur affirme qu'il possède les qualifications visées dans le contrat et que toutes les informations personnelles fournies sont correctes.

(2) NLP a le droit d'exiger du traducteur la présentation de documents appropriés pour confirmer ces informations et conserver ces données jusqu'à ce que ses obligations contractuelles soient remplies.

§ 3 - Etendue des Prestations

(1) La PNL remet au traducteur une offre pour la traduction d'un texte spécifique ou d'un certain nombre de textes. Une fois que le traducteur a accepté cette offre, un contrat de traduction est établi entre les parties dans les conditions visées dans l'offre.

(2) Le traducteur remplit lui-même ses obligations. Ceci s'applique également aux groupes de traducteurs (agences). Il n'est pas autorisé à faire appel à des employés ou à des tiers pour effectuer cette prestation sans l'autorisation préalable de NLP. Si des agences sont mandatées, l'agence est tenue de sélectionner et de contrôler soigneusement le traducteur. L'agence est obligée de fournir à NLP sur demande le nom du traducteur spécifique sélectionné, ou de confier la traduction à un traducteur particulier/autre.

(3) La traduction doit être effectuée selon les principes professionnels appropriés. Le traducteur ne soumettra que des textes soigneusement traduits. Il n'est pas autorisé à soumettre des traductions partielles. NLP recevra la traduction sous la forme et dans les délais spécifiés dans le contrat.

(4) Le traducteur sera informé en temps utile de la manière dont la traduction doit être effectuée (objectif prévu, supports de données à utiliser, nombre d'exemplaires, etc.) ainsi que des informations et du matériel nécessaires à la réalisation de la traduction. Il doit traduire correctement et professionnellement le texte source dans la langue spécifiée et fournir une traduction sans abrégés, ajouts ou autres modifications de contenu. Les traductions doivent être créées conformément aux normes de qualité habituelles dans le domaine de la traduction, transmettant le sens du texte source en fournissant une traduction littérale ou libre selon la source.

(5) En cas de questions ou d'incertitudes, le traducteur contactera immédiatement NLP. Il est interdit au traducteur de contacter directement le client de NLP.

(6) À des fins d'assurance qualité, NLP est autorisé à vérifier des échantillons des textes que le traducteur a soumis, mais il n'est pas tenu de vérifier les textes traduits.

§ 4 - Octroi de droits

(1) En transmettant sa traduction, le traducteur déclare qu'il est l'unique auteur et qu'aucun tiers n'a d'autres droits sur la traduction que ceux qui existaient au moment où il a reçu le texte source. Les agences doivent s'assurer qu'aucune réclamation de tiers sur la traduction n'existe.

(2) En transmettant sa traduction, le traducteur accorde à NLP le droit exclusif d'utiliser sa traduction sans restriction de temps, d'espace et de localité. Cela inclut en particulier le droit d'éditer, de modifier, de dupliquer, de publier ou d'utiliser autrement la traduction ainsi que tous les droits dont le client a besoin pour utiliser la traduction aux fins prévues.

(3) NLP est autorisée à concéder ou à transférer des droits d'utilisation à des tiers, notamment à ses clients, et à leur permettre d'utiliser la traduction comme bon leur semble.

(4) Le traducteur renonce à son droit d'être nommé ou reconnu comme l'auteur de la traduction.

§ 5 - Taxe

(1) Le traducteur percevra l'honoraire convenu tel que stipulé dans le contrat. Cela sera basé sur le nombre de mots, de lignes ou de pages, la combinaison de langues, la difficulté, le domaine spécial de la traduction ou sera défini comme un taux forfaitaire. Les honoraires mentionnés dans le contrat sont nets, majorés de la TVA au taux en vigueur le cas échéant. Les frais seront réglés en francs suisses, à moins qu'une devise différente n'ait été convenue. Les définitions suivantes s'appliquent :

(2) Lignes : 55 caractères

(3) Pages : 30 lignes

(4) Le traducteur doit soumettre une facture appropriée à NLP au plus tard à la fin d'un mois pour les services rendus et soit inclure la TVA applicable dans la facture, soit fournir une raison de son exclusion. Les factures sont payables les 15 et 30 de chaque mois, mais pas avant réception de la facture.

(5) Le traducteur est redevable de l'impôt sur les revenus des traductions selon les dispositions légales qui lui sont applicables.

(6) Tous les frais et dépenses sont inclus dans les honoraires. Les demandes de remboursement des frais engagés pour l'exécution du service de traduction spécifié dans le contrat ne seront acceptées que si elles sont vérifiables et que NLP les a préalablement acceptées.

(7) Le traducteur n'a droit à aucun acompte. Le traducteur n'est pas non plus autorisé à facturer des traductions partielles.

§ 6 - Confidentialité

(1) Le traducteur traite confidentiellement toutes les informations qu'il a acquises concernant NLP et/ou ses clients, ainsi que tous les documents et matériels qu'il a reçus dans le cadre du contrat. Il ne peut les utiliser ou les exploiter, ni les utiliser, les exploiter ou les transmettre à des tiers. En outre, le traducteur supprimera ces données immédiatement après l'exécution du contrat. Si le traducteur doit réviser ou modifier la traduction ultérieurement, après avoir supprimé ce matériel, NLP lui fournira les données nécessaires.

§ 7 - Droits de garantie, défaut

(1) NLP détient des droits de garantie contre le traducteur.

(2) Si le traducteur ne parvient pas à rectifier les défauts allégués dans un délai approprié, NLP a le droit soit de faire rectifier les défauts par un tiers aux frais du traducteur, soit d'exiger une réduction des honoraires du traducteur, soit de résilier le contrat.

(3) Si une traduction n'est pas livrée ou si elle est rejetée, le traducteur est en défaut. Le traducteur indemnisera NLP pour tout dommage en résultant. NLP est en droit de fixer au traducteur un délai de grâce approprié pour réviser la traduction. NLP peut également résilier le contrat et réclamer des dommages et intérêts en cas de non-respect de ce délai de grâce.

(4) En cas de circonstances susceptibles de nuire à une livraison rapide, le traducteur doit contacter immédiatement NLP.

§ 8 - Responsabilité

(1) NLP ne sera responsable que des dommages subis en raison d'un manquement délibéré à une obligation ou d'une négligence grave de la part de NLP, de ses représentants légaux ou auxiliaires d'exécution. Ceci s'applique également à la violation d'une obligation précontractuelle et à la violation d'une obligation en ce qui concerne un sous-contrat, ainsi que les dommages subis en raison de défauts et de dommages indirects. Cette disposition n'affecte pas la responsabilité de NLP telle que décrite dans la loi sur la responsabilité du fait des produits, ni sa responsabilité pour les dommages résultant d'une atteinte à la vie, à l'intégrité physique et à la santé.

§ 9 - Libération

(1) Le traducteur dégagera NLP de toutes les réclamations de tiers qui pourraient être faites à l'encontre de NLP à la suite de sa traduction. Cela inclut notamment toute réclamation en raison du contenu du service de traduction et/ou d'autres droits de propriété intellectuelle de tiers. Cette disposition libère également NLP de tous les frais encourus pour une action en justice et une défense juridique à la suite de telles réclamations.

§ 10 - Commissions finales

(1) Le droit de l'État fédéral suisse s'applique à l'exclusion de la Convention des Nations Unies sur la vente de marchandises.

(2) Le lieu d'exécution et le for pour tous les litiges découlant du contrat est Zurich.

(3) Si des dispositions individuelles du contrat en question entre les parties sont inefficaces ou impossibles à mettre en œuvre ou deviennent inefficaces ou impossibles à mettre en œuvre après la conclusion du contrat, cela n'affectera pas autrement la validité du contrat en question.